New Virginia Laws Effective Immediately


Happy New Year!

We were welcomed into 2022 with new laws in Virginia:

  1. Virginia employers will now be required to pay their workers a minimum of $11 per hour. The Virginia minimum wage increased from the federal minimum to $9.50 an hour on May 1, 2021. The $11 rate is set to last until Jan. 1, 2023, when the rate will increase again to $12 per hour. Virginia minimum wage will increase until it reaches $15 in 2026.
  2. Increase in car insurance coverage amounts. Starting in 2022, motor vehicle liability insurance will cover more in cases of bodily injury or death of a person. The increase will apply to policies effective between Jan. 1 of this year, and Jan. 1, 2025. Liability insurance will now cover $30,000 when one person is harmed or killed instead of $25,000. In cases involving two people, coverage increases from $50,000 to $60,000.
  3. Effective Jan. 1, 2022 there will no longer be low alcohol spirits-based beverages available at liquor stores, except for those manufactured in Virginia. Low alcohol applies to anything equal to or less than 7.5% alcohol by volume.
  4. The Humane Cosmetics Act puts an end to cosmetics testing on animals in Virginia and also prevents any further sale of cosmetics that have been tested on animals. Anyone who violates the law could pay up to $5,000 in initial fines and $1,000 for each day they continue breaking the law.
  5. The Virginia primary election typically held the second Tuesday in June has been moved to the third Tuesday in June. Potential candidates will also have until the third Tuesday in June to file nomination and candidacy papers for officers determined by a November general election.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content